33 Twitter Powerhouses worth following

twitter

If you are active on Twitter, you are likely familiar with @maddow, @oprah, and even @digitalroyalty. Perhaps these notables are already in your network. But we we think these Twitter powerhouses are worth following.

1. Lisa Stone @lisastone: One-third of the BlogHer founder power trifecta including @jorydjand @elisac, Lisa Stone is a symbol of what women are capable of in the new media sphere. She is daring, smart and magnetic.

2. Sarah Evans @prsarahevans: Marrying her PR background and a passion for social media (a self-described “Twitterholic”), Evans has developed a devoted following that she likens to “a giant cocktail party.” If there's any doubt about her guest list, take a look at her following.

3. Leanin @LeaninOrg: Global community committed to offering women the encouragement and support to lean in to their ambitions.

4. Natalie Sisson @suitcasepreneur: Want to create freedom in business & adventure in life? I'm ya girl! I help you build a thriving online biz using social media, online tools and outsourcing

5. Natalie Macneil @nataliemacneil: Author of She Takes on the World (http://amzn.to/GCBT0m); EMMY Award Winning Media Entrepreneur; Green Juice Junkie; Blogger, Forbes & HuffPo. DREAM BIG!

6. Heidi Roizen:‏ @HeidiRoizen Life is Good! Board member, Stanford Educator, Venture Partner, Mom.

7. Rieva Lesonsky @Rieva: CEO GrowBiz Media & SmallBizDaily.com. Small business advocate, journalist, best-selling author. Former editorial director of Entrepreneur magazine (20+ yrs).

8. Margaret Heffernan @M_Heffernan: Margaret was CEO of five businesses.She blogs for Huffington Post and BNET.Her new book WILLFUL BLINDNESS is shortlisted for the Financial Times award.

9. Social Media Today @socialmedia2day: #Publishing and #distribution of great posts by the world's best thinkers on #SocialMedia best practices, tools and #socialmarketing

10. Beth Comstock @bethcomstock: Marketer on a mission. Intrigued by ideas at the intersection of design & technology. CMO at GE. Aspiring innovator. Sometime writer. Relentless traveler.

11. Spin Sucks @SpinSucks: Spin Sucks blog is directed at marketing/PR pros & business leaders to keep you informed of trends in social PR & marketing. AE Yvette Pistorio tweeting.

12. Harvard Biz Review @HarvardBiz: The latest Harvard Business Review blog posts, Management Tips of the Day, Daily Stats, and more.

13. John Bell @jbell99: I run [email protected], Ogilvy's global social media and business solutions practice

14. Jill Griffin @JillDGriffin: Award-winning marketer. Storyteller. Avid reader. Healthy Living Evangelist. Reiki Master. City gal with a country heart. NYC & NoFo. SVP @LiquidThread.

15. The Sprouter Team @Sprouter: Sprouter is where founders get expert answers to their startup questions. Acquired by @PostmediaNet in October 2011. Account powered by @jonspenceley.

16. Meghan Casserly @Meg_Casserly: Girl Friday at Forbes. Girl in the world, writer of lists, wannabe entrepreneur. [email protected]

17. Amy Palmer @amypalmer: Founder & CEO @PowerwomenTV & @TycoonessEnt/ Emmy-Nominated TV Host & Reporter/TV Contributor/Content Creator/Building a Lifestyle Video Network for Women

18. Stacey Delo @staceydelo: Founder of maybrooks.com, where smart moms help each other find flexible careers. Mom. Newsie (former reporter – The Wall Street Journal Digital Network).

19. Beneath the Brand @BeneaththeBrand: Covering the Changing World of Branding

20. Alexandra Levit @alevit: Workplace author, speaker, columnist, and consultant. Helping people succeed in meaningful jobs and building relationships between organizations and top talent.

21. Janine Popick @janinepopick: Janine Popick is the CEO and co-founder of VerticalResponse, a leading online marketing provider to over 100,000 small businesses worldwide.

22. Under 30 CEO @Under30CEO: Under30CEO is the leading media site covering news, advice, trends & events for the young entrepreneur.

23. Chris Dixon @cdixon: Investor

24. Marla Tabaka @MarlaTabaka: Entrepreneurial Coach, Inc. Magazine author & podcaster helping biz owners with mindset and strategies for a fabulous life and business.

25. Ann Mack @annmmack: Director of Trendspotting at JWT, Ohio State fan, voracious media consumer, Bikram yogi, hugely inquisitive (in no particular order)

26. Ann Dwyer @AnnDwyer_Crains: Crain's small-business editor, tweeting news by, for and about Chicago's savvy entrepreneurs: Small business, your business.

27. Leah Busque @labusque: Engineer turned entrepreneur, Boston native turned SF transplant. Founder, TaskRabbit.com – A community of people joining together to get things done.

28. Rachel Haot @rachelhaot: Chief Digital Officer for @nycgov. @ me your ideas for tech in NYC.

29. Feministing @feministing: Breaking news and busting balls.

30. Jezebel @jezebel: Celebrity, Sex, Fashion for Women. Without Airbrushing.

31. Rachel Sklar @rachelsklar: Media addict on the loose. Changing the ratio.

32. Kara Swisher @karaswisher: Co-Executive editor, AllThingsD

33. @whitneyjohnson Co-founder @claychristensen's fund; @harvardbiz-er, @Inc's 12 to Follow on Twitter in '12

*A big thanks to Project Eve Featured Blogger Jessie Spielvogel who helped us compile this wonderful list.

SHARE
Previous articleStartup Stories: A Daughter’s Gift Becomes a Mother’s Legacy
Next articleYour Daughter isn’t Bossy And Other Real Female Leadership Lessons
Meridith Dennes is a co-founder and the CEO of Project Eve LLC, a leading women's lifestyle media company online including some of the web's best loved communities including the eponymous Project Eve, Getting Balance, Project Eve Moms, Project Eve Money and Scary Puppy Silly Kitty. With a digital readership in excess of 20+ million monthly uniques, and over 1 million social media followers, Project Eve provides the news and resources to inspire and empower women. Meridith also works as a digital consultant and social media strategist and has worked with several Fortune 500 companies to help increase brand awareness and improve social media engagement.Meridith holds a BA from Northwestern University and an MBA from NYU's Stern School of Business. Prior to founding Project Eve, she spent 15 years working in investment banking. Meridith currently lives in Vermont with her husband and 2 daughters and spends her free time teaching skiing, practicing yoga, hiking and snowshoeing.

5 COMMENTS

  1. […] 33 Twitter Powerhouses worth following (projecteve.com) […]

  2. […] 33 Twitter Powerhouses worth following (projecteve.com) […]

  3. it would be really helpful if you could link these twitter handles so that we can click on them to follow them instead of having to go search for them in twitter on our own.

  4. Hello Project Eve and Jessie Spielvogel,

    Thank you so much for making it possible (and so easy) for me to connect with so many inspirational and amazing people.

    [email protected] start ups